top of page

Brainstorm #1 Zines!!


Above is a collection of physical convention guides and a zine I managed to get from one of the cons.


I've been thinking about this zine making for a while now and I think I have a few ideas for what might be cool to make into a zine!

  • First, I was considering the mood i wanted to portray in my zine. I either want a serious theme taken to be comedic, or something cute and relatable.

  • Second, I wanted to create some setting and characters as if I was making a sliver of a graphic novel. Either I'll take on a cute but destructive little robot dude or I'll implement some soft shapes like a fluffy triangle.

  • Lastly, (I don't know why I came up with this order) I wanted to come up with a story or a message the reader could think about. This might look like my interpretation of how society is stuck in their dependency of screens and technology or, I'll make up the little adventures of a small cute character that the reader might want to care about.



I have a small collection of actual comics and graphic novels that have inspired some of the ways I want to make my zine. My favorite ones being "Bone" and the "Saga" series. Also among the pictures above is one of the only zines I've gotten from a convention called "Kin". There is also a sample page for ideas on how to structure a zine. The "Vilous" book there is from a Japanese creator by the name "Mick". Her creature designs are amazing and her art inspired me to create my own character based on her fictional species. I mention this because I like to draw and imagine my character in many different scenarios so, I might decide to put my personal character in my zine as an interpretation of me.


Gift art I received that is of my character "Melon" relaxing on a nice summer day. Notice how he is a soft triangle.

bottom of page